Narendra Modi was sworn in as Prime Minister of India for a third consecutive term at Rashtrapati Bhavan on Sunday evening, along with 30 cabinet ministers and 41 ministers of state, five with independent charge. While giving primacy to experience and continuity by inducting several old faces, Modi also included 11 members from the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) parties in the coalition government.In only the second instance of a PM getting a third straight term, Modi will lead a coalition government dependent on its allies for survival. However, key allies TDP, JDU, JDS and LJP-RV have been given only one cabinet berth each, an indicator that Modi will try to keep the reins with himself as far as important policy and governance decisions are concerned.

Allies like the NCP and Shiv Sena-Shinde faction have no representation in the cabinet. Jayant Chaudhary (RLD) and Prataprao Jadhav (Shiv Sena-Shinde) were inducted as ministers of state with independent charge. Anupriya Patel (Apna Dal-S) has been made a minister of state.

President Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of office and secrecy to Modi and the council of ministers at a glittering ceremony that was attended by heads of state and government of neighbouring countries, chief ministers, captains of industry and Bollywood celebrities.

  • All
  • Uttar Pradesh
  • Maharashtra
  • Tamil Nadu
  • West Bengal
  • Bihar
  • Karnataka
  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Telangana
  • Kerala
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Rajasthan
  • Delhi
  • Other States

Plan to Hit the Ground Running
The pecking order of the ministers was changed from last time due to the induction of new faces, including former chief ministers and members of the NDA. The cabinet has several heavyweight leaders, including six former chief ministers, while ministers who had put in a good performance in the previous dispensation have been retained.

Several ministers were part of the council in the first two terms as well. The composition indicates that the government intends to hit the ground running. Modi had announced some weeks back that he was chalking out a 100-day programme for his next government.

Portfolios of ministers had not been announced as of press time. The responsibilities allocated to the ministers could bring some surprises, observers said.


The 30 cabinet ministers are Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, JP Nadda, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Nirmala Sitharaman, S Jaishankar, Manohar Lal (Khattar), HD Kumaraswamy (JDS), Piyush Goyal, Dharmendra Pradhan, Jitan Ram Manjhi (HAM-S), Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh (JDU), Sarbananda Sonowal, Virendra Kumar, Kinjarapu Ram Mohan Naidu (TDP), Pralhad Joshi, Jual Oram, Giriraj Singh, Ashwini Vaishnaw, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Bhupender Yadav, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Annpurna Devi, Kiren Rijiju, Hardeep Singh Puri, Mansukh Mandaviya, G Kishan Reddy, Chirag Paswan (LJP-RV) and CR Patil.

Apart from Jayant Chaudhary and Prataprao Jadhav, Rao Inderjit Singh, Jitendra Singh and Arjun Ram Meghwal were sworn in as ministers of state with independent charge.

The six former chief ministers in the cabinet are Rajnath Singh (UP), Chouhan (MP), Manohar Lal (Haryana), HD Kumaraswamy (Karnataka), Manjhi (Bihar) and Sonowal (Assam).

The BJP’s performance in the general election was below its projections, with its tally reduced from 302 in the 17th Lok Sabha to 240 in the present one. As many as 19 ministers were among those who lost their seats. Most have been dropped. L Murugan, who’d got another term in the Rajya Sabha in April but stood for the Lok Sabha and lost, has been retained as a minister. Ravneet Singh (Bittu), who had switched from Congress to BJP and lost the election from Ludhiana, has been made a junior minister.

By one estimate, 27 of the ministers belong to the backward classes, 10 are from the scheduled castes and five each from the scheduled tribes and minority communities.

Actor-politician Suresh Gopi, the first BJP MP from Kerala, has been made a minister of state. Kerala BJP general secretary George Kurian has also been made a minister of state.

Foreign guests at the ceremony included Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Sri Lanka President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Maldives President Mohamed Muizzu, Nepal Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal, Bhutan King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck and Mauritius Premier Pravind Kumar Jugnauth.

Congress President and Leader of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge attended the swearing-in ceremony. Several chief ministers, captains of industry – including Mukesh Ambani and Gautam Adani, film stars like Shah Rukh Khan and Rajinikanth, and celebrities from different walks of life were also present.

Source link